What’s your procrastination style?


What's your procrastination style?

Six Styles. Read ‘Em. Try ‘Em On. Pick Out A Procrastination Style That Fits You Best.

For most of us, getting through the day means getting through your work. Whether you work at home or in an office, there is always something to do and something that needs to be completed. But sometimes we would rather do almost anything than the one thing that needs do get done the most.

For those of you who may find you procrastinate, here’s a way to determine what procrastination style you have. This was developed by Dr. Linda Sapadin and is called, “The 6 Styles of Procrastination and How to Overcome Them.”

The Perfectionist Procrastinator…But I want it to be perfect!

* Do I have difficulty starting or completing tasks because my standards are too high?
* Am I reluctant to delegate tasks or work with others unless they do things my way?
* Do I get preoccupied with details, rules or schedules that others don’t care about?

The Dreamer Procrastinator…But I hate dealing with all those bothersome details!

* Do I think a lot about what I’d like to accomplish but rarely get projects off the ground?
* Do I wait for opportunities to drop into my lap rather than take an active “go get ’em” * approach?
* Do I long to be able to go from “A” to “Z” without having to deal with all the stuff in * between?

The Worrier Procrastinator…But I’m afraid to make a change!

* Do I hesitate to leave my comfort zone, avoiding situations that cause stress or anxiety?
* Do I paralyze myself before starting work on a project, wondering about “what ifs”?
* Do I maximize the difficulty of tasks and minimize my ability to deal with them?

The Crisis-Maker Procrastinator…But I only get motivated at the last minute!

* Do I ignore important tasks, then, at the last minute work frantically to get them done?
* Do I believe I work best when I am under pressure?
* Do I enjoy – or pride myself on – a lifestyle of taking risks or living on the edge?

The Defier Procrastinator…But why should I do it?

* Do I become irritable or argumentative when asked to do something I don’t want to do?
* Do I feel that others make unreasonable demands on me?
* Do I avoid obligations by claiming that I’ve forgotten them or that they’re not important?

The Overdoer (Pleaser) Procrastinator…But I have so much to do!

* Do I have difficulty saying “No” to people who ask for help but feel resentful later on?
* Do I frequently complain about not having enough time, being too busy or having too much to do?”
* Does my attention easily get diverted from what I’m doing to something else?

If you don’t want a professional determination, try sending this article out to 10 of your closest friends and family. Ask each of them to select the procrastination style he or she thinks fits you best. Also ask each person to tell you why he or she thinks you wear that style well. Then compare what the majority of these folks say to the style you feel best represents you.

You may find that what others have selected is just a perception of how they see you at work or at home. Dr. Linda Sapadin offers ways to make changes to your specific procrastinating style.

Either way, it’s something to think about while you’re procrastinating what you want for dinner tonight.

Otherwise, for Dr. Linda Sapadin’s tips on changing your procrastination patterns visit:

A Procrastination Mini-Quiz. It’s About Time!

2 Comments

  1. Gillean, I would be the one who works best under pressure but have never allowed a deadline to pass. There was one time when I had been heaped with assignments and was frantically trying to keep up. I worked primarily with men and wanted to show that I could do the job at least as well. What I learned was that several of the guys weren’t doing their jobs, so I got the assignments because management knew they would get done. Finally, one afternoon I walked into my boss’s office and said, “I’ve hit the wall. What you are asking of me is untenable, and I have the stats to prove it.” I had gone in with verified stats of production numbers within the staff. From that day on, my assignments were handed out in a more equitable way. So much depends on the work environment, as well as our own self-imposed goals.

    cher

  2. Well let’s see.

    I do tend to be ahead of the game. There are however specific things like bill paying that I choose to batch and attend to several days before they are due, rather than paying them instantly upon receipt of the bills. I also rank my blogging below my studio work, my contract work, and house and yardwork, but that’s not really procrastination — it’s setting priorities and sticking to them.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

