“Okay. How Did You Really Get Those Results?” The New Business Process



In 2003, I was invited to present to a very well-known national advertising agency. At the time, I was working for a small, relatively unknown, local agency. Through the grapevine, the president of this national agency said he had heard I was simply the best at new business – bar none. We met briefly and he asked that I come back to explain exactly what my process was to winning new business and simply how I did what I did.

To give you a reference point, I built the new business department for this small firm I was currently employed from scratch. I developed a database with different levels of targets in key industries. I prepared a time line focusing on prospects in 1 month, 3 month, 6 month and 12 month increments. I put into place what some witty colleagues called my ‘black box’ methodology. With all of this, I was able to gain face-to-face time with globally and nationally-known companies such as:

  • GlaxoSmithKline (GSK Worldwide)
  • Volvo Trucks North America
  • Abbott Laboratories
  • Bayer
  • Sealy Inc.
  • SAS Institute
  • Lowes Home Improvement
  • Bojangles
  • Sara Lee Corporation
  • Champion
  • Family Dollar
  • VF Corporation – Healthtex, Jeanswear
  • Remington Arms

When it came time to present to the president of this agency, I gave him a step by step new business process that I am more than happy to share with you now. The amazing creative design that came with my presentation will be featured in upcoming posts. Should you need a designer who is also a very strategic thinker (hard to find both) simply contact Jeff Zielinski at funkyteaparty.com

The New Business Plan
It’s about people, prospects & process

  1. Define your parameters
  2. Gather your leads
  3. Qualify your leads
  4. Evaluate and define groups
  5. Manage creative execution
  6. Test and refine
  7. Roll-out
  8. New and organic business (uncovering personalities will open possibilities)
  9. Get through the door

Follow upcoming posts as I define and explain each step mentioned above. My hope is that you will find some of the same success I have…and more.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

