Hearst Corporation, Helen Thomas & Casting Stones


I received a phone call from the Hearst Corporation today. I asked the person, a leading executive with Hearst if I could ask a straight-forward question. This person and I met briefly during a visit to D.C. when I visited Helen Thomas at her office…or should I say cubicle. I was amazed that Helen Thomas worked from a small cubicle. Anyway, the Hearst executive knew who my father was and I wondered if I could ask him a straight-forward question. My question was simply this; why did Hearst make the decision it did to ‘help’ or to force Helen to retire as one of its opinion columnists? After all, Helen did state an opinion. The stammering and uhms and uhs were heard on the other end of the line.

What. No opinion? I have one.

As inappropriate and disrespectful as the comment was, it was an opinion. Each of us knows someone who has fought for our country in some way or another. These men and women have fought for our freedoms, one of which is the freedom of speech. I am underwhelmed at the many who have elected to scatter away to distance themselves – many who were her ‘friends’ for years and even some who claimed a close relationship with Helen throughout their own lives.

Next, we’ll find out The Society of Professional Journalists is considering to rename its Helen Thomas Award for Lifetime Achievement. Oh, that’s right. FoxNews.com states the society is considering this and will make its decision in July.

‘Let he who is without sin cast the first stone.’
John 8:7

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

